Compact Nursing States

The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to have one multi-state license so you can practice in participating compact nursing states. This can help make taking assignments easier and faster for many travel nurses.

In the past, travel nurses had to get single state licenses for each state they took an assignment in. Getting a state license can take some time, which can make it difficult to take the jobs you want in the locations you want as they become available. Instead, the NLC was designed by the National Council of the State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) to help allow nurses to travel across state lines and provide excellent care for their patients.

Essentially, what this means is if you have a compact nursing license, you can take a job in compact states without filling out extra applications or paying extra fees to get a license!

This can help make taking jobs smoother and help reduce the amount of paperwork and time you need to do to take an assignment in a state you’ve never practiced in before. Our team can help walk you through the process of getting your compact nursing license and help you determine which jobs are the right fit for you.

Currently, 34 states accept compact nursing licenses, and there are several states with pending legislation to join. Here’s a list of compact nursing states:

Compact Nursing States
Travel Nurse — Compact Nursing States

Compact Nursing Licensing States

If you have a compact nursing license and are ready to start taking travel nurse assignments in NLC states, we’re here to help! Search jobs on our job board or connect with one of our recruiters today to learn how we can help you start exploring the country through travel nursing.

How do I get my Compact Nursing License?

So, how do you get a compact license? If you already have a license in one of the participating states and your primary residence is there, then you may already have one! You can check whether your nursing license is part of the NLC easily online.

Compact nursing licenses are only available to nurses whose primary residence is in one of the participating states. If you don’t live in one of the states but want to take an assignment in one of them, then you can still apply for a single state license. However, you aren’t eligible for the compact nursing license. You’ll need to get a license in each state even if it’s part of the NLC.

If you recently moved your primary residence to a compact state, you can apply for the multi-state nursing license in your new state.

Our team at AHS NurseStat offers years of experience and knowledge around licensing requirements for states around the country and can help offer guidance when you need to apply for different types of licenses. If you’re ready to find your dream job, reach out today and talk to one of our recruiters about how we can help make it possible.

What is a travel nurse? Learn all about it.

Receive job alerts by saving your search!

Filter by:

  • Shift
  • Pay
  • Location
  • Specialty
  • Start Date

And receive only the jobs relevant to you in your inbox daily, weekly or monthly!